• Honored med students each got their start at Baylor

    Dr. Sara LindseyThe staff at UT Southwestern Medical School noticed a trend when rounding up the winners of their annual student awards; an unusually high number had all done their undergraduate studies at the same school — Baylor.

    Five Baylor alums were recognized by UT Southwestern Medical School in Dallas with a variety of honors; click on each name below for a PDF of an article from the school’s paper about that student.

    * Dr. Sara Lindsey (pictured) was awarded UT Southwestern Medical School’s Ho Din Award — the highest honor for a graduating medical student. She will remain in Dallas for a residency in radiology at Baylor Medical Center.

    * Dr. Katie Vick received the school’s top family medicine award, the William F. Ross, M.D., Scholarship Award in Family Medicine, a $1,000 scholarship given to a graduating UT Southwestern Medical School student. She will serve her residency at the McLennan County Family Medicine Practice Center in Waco.

    * Dr. Joseph Fitzwater won the 2008 Annelle M. Ahmed, M.D., Women’s Health Care Award, the school’s top women’s health honor. He is completing a general surgery residency in Lubbock  is completing his ob-gyn residency at Parkland Hospital in Dallas (sorry for the error; that’s his brother in Lubbock).

    * Dr. Sarah Davis claimed UT Southwestern’s top neurology award, the 2008 American Academy of Neurology Medical Student Prize for Excellence in Neurology. She will be a resident at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center.

    * Dr. Ben Brown is this year’s recipient of the Vanatta, Hesser, Schmalstieg Excellence in Tutoring Award. He will stay at UT Southwestern for his general surgery residency.

    Sic ’em, Baylor doctors!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon