• Baylor AD Mack Rhoades named to College Football Playoff Selection Committee

    Mack Rhoades and Linda Livingstone amidst falling green and gold confetti

    When the College Football Playoff Selection Committee gets together this fall to pick the teams for the sport’s first-ever 12-team playoff, there will be two Baylor Bears in the room where it happens — one past, one present.

    The past Bear is former interim head coach Jim Grobe, who was named to the committee in 2022. But the current Bear is the one who has fans in the green and gold fired up: Baylor Director of Athletics Mack Rhoades.

    Rhoades, in his seventh year at the helm of Baylor Athletics, joins the committee in time for the 2024 season and will serve a three-year term. The back-to-back national athletics director of the year in 2020 and 2021, Rhoades will be one of 13 selection committee members tasked with selecting and seeding the new 12-team playoff bracket.

    “I’m extremely honored,” Rhoades told ESPN Central Texas’ Matt Mosley (BA ’95). “This is less about me and more about Baylor, what our head coaches, our student-athletes, and our staff have been able to accomplish — so really a tribute to Baylor University and Baylor Athletics. … You can’t commit to something like this without having great people around you. I’m blessed from that standpoint.”

    With Rhoades on the CFP selection committee and President Linda Livingstone serving as chair of both the NCAA Board of Governors and the Big 12 Conference’s board of directors, Baylor is well-situated to have a voice at the highest levels of college athletics.

    Sic ’em, Mack!