• Odyssey Sims wins ‘Heisman of women’s hoops’

    Odyssey Sims

    For the third straight season, a Baylor Lady Bear is the national player of the year.

    Outgoing senior Odyssey Sims was named the winner of the 2014 Wade Trophy on Monday night by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. The Wade Trophy is the oldest women’s basketball national player of the year honor, dating back to 1978; based on that history, it is sometimes referred to as “the Heisman of women’s basketball.”

    After three years directing the Lady Bears’ offense, Sims moved into the spotlight as a senior. As Baylor’s top offensive weapon, the four-year starter became just the second woman in Division I history to score 1,000 points in a season, finishing a mere eight points shy of the NCAA record. Her 28.5 points per game set a Big 12 record, and she leaves Baylor as the Lady Bears’ all-time leader in career 3-pointers and assists; she also ranks among the top 5 in steals (second) and points (third).

    The honor is just the latest in a long line for Sims this spring: Big 12 Player of the Year, Lieberman Award winner (nation’s top point guard), Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award winner (top player under 5-foot-9), consensus All-American, and a finalist for the Naismith Trophy and the WBCA Defensive Player of the Year.

    Next up for Sims? The WNBA draft, scheduled for April 14. Sims is expected to be the 10th Lady Bear draftee in the last 13 years, likely joining fellow first-round picks such as Sheila Lambert (2002), Danielle Crockrom (2002), Sophia Young (2006), Bernice Mosby (2007) and Brittney Griner (2013). (She is also on pace to graduate this May with a degree in speech communication.)

    Sic ’em, Odyssey!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon