• Griffin, Pawelek lead host of football honorees

    Robert GriffinWith college football’s regular season now complete, it’s now awards season. The winner of the Heisman Trophy will be announced tomorrow, and while none of the three finalists are Bears, it’s interesting to compare some numbers:

    Player A: 2,515 yards passing, 28 touchdown passes, 564 yards rushing, 12 rushing touchdowns
    Player B: 2,091 yards passing, 15 touchdown passes, 843 yards rushing, 13 rushing touchdowns

    Hardcore football fans might recognize Player A as 2008 Heisman finalist Tim Tebow, the Florida Gators’ junior quarterback (and 2007 Heisman winner). Player B? That’s Baylor’s own Robert Griffin, the nation’s youngest starting quarterback (still just 18 with his freshman year now complete).

    Griffin’s not in on the Heisman discussion (yet), but his impressive season did earn him the nod as the Big 12’s Offensive Freshman/Newcomer of the Year from a host of groups that includes the league’s coaches and the Associated Press.

    Three other Bears — junior safety Jordan Lake, junior linebacker Joe Pawelek and senior offensive tackle Jason Smith — earned first-team All-Big 12 honors from the AP and Big 12 coaches — in each case, the first time three Baylor players have earned first-team honors since the league’s formation. In all, six Bears were recognized by the coaches and seven were highlighted by the AP for their efforts this season.

    Pawelek was also named an Academic All-American after leading the Big 12 in tackles per game and interceptions this fall. A junior finance major, Pawelek has matched his on-the-field excellence while in the classroom, compiling a 3.78 GPA through his first three years at Baylor.

    Sic ’em, Baylor football honorees!