• Baylor professors of the year represent business law, history, anthropology & sport management

    Headshots of Lotte Bostick, Dr. Stephen Sloan, Dr. Julie Hoggarth, and Dr. Jeffrey Petersen

    The academic year is complete: finals graded, books returned, students graduated — and Baylor faculty honored! Congratulations to this year’s Baylor professors of the year:

    The Collins Outstanding Professor Award is voted on each year by the outgoing senior class. Past Collins professors include Rachel Moore (MA ’69) in 1999, Dr. Mona Choucair (BA ’86, PhD ’00) in 2008, and Dr. Jane Damron (MA ’09) in 2019.

    Baylor’s Class of 2024 chose Lotte Bostick, assistant clinical professor in business law in the Hankamer School of Business and adjunct professor at Baylor Law School, as this year’s recipient of the Collins Award. “The students here at Baylor are the reason I love my teaching position so much,” Bostick says. “It is such an honor and encouragement to know that they have this confidence in me. I’m speechless, and my students will tell you — that rarely happens.”

    The Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year honors a professor who “makes a significant contribution to the learning environment at Baylor,” based on teaching, research, creative activity and service. Past recipients include Dr. Bill Hillis (BS ’53) in 2009, Dr. Roger Kirk in 2012, and Dr. Gaynor Yancey in 2019.

    Dr. Stephen Sloan (BBA ’90, MA ’98), professor of history and director of Baylor’s Institute for Oral History, is this year’s honoree. “My desire is to live up to this designation in all areas in which I research, teach and serve,” says Sloan. “It is a gift to have the opportunity to do what I do. Baylor University has been a part of my life since I was young, and to receive this high honor is a true highlight of my professional career.”

    The Baylor Centennial Professor Award was created by the Centennial Class of 1945 and provides financial support to aid professors with specific research projects. Past honorees include Robert Darden (BSED ’76) in 2008, Dr. Beth Allison Barr (BA ’96) in 2018, and Dr. Julie deGraffenried in 2023.

    Two professors were selected for the 2024 award: Dr. Julie Hoggarth, associate professor of anthropology, and Dr. Jeffrey Petersen, professor of sport management. Hoggarth will use the award to study the impact of drought on the Mayan collapse, while Petersen will use his award to research the expansion of administrative staff within collegiate sports.

    A dozen other Baylor faculty members were honored with Outstanding Faculty awards for their teaching, scholarship and contributions to the academic community in 2023-24: Jessica Asbridge, Dr. Dawn Carlson (BBA ’89, MBA ’91), Dr. Rafael Climent-Espino, Dr. Amy Fleming, Dr. Victor J. Hinojosa (BA ’96), Jim Huggins, Dr. Theresa Varney Kennedy, Dr. Yulia Sullivan, Dr. Eric Swan, Dr. Laura Upenieks, Dr. Lenore Wright (MA ’95), and Dr. Davide Zori.

    Sic ’em, Baylor professors!