• Baylor Acrobatics & Tumbling wins 9th (!!!!!!!!!) straight national title

    Baylor Acrobatics & Tumbling poses with the national champions banner and trophy

    On Saturday, Baylor Acrobatics & Tumbling won its ninth — NINTH!!!!!!!!! — straight national title! The win extends a run that dates back to 2015 (there was no championship in 2020 due to COVID). Over those 10 seasons, head coach Felecia Mulkey’s squad has gone a mind-boggling 98-2, including a current 38-meet winning streak.

    For context: The only longer NCAA D-1 championship streaks are in track and field, where the Arkansas men won 12 straight indoor titles from 1984-95, and the LSU women won 11 straight outdoor championships from 1987-97. (To be clear, Baylor’s current run is an NCATA streak, not an NCAA streak, because acrobatics and tumbling is currently classified as an NCAA Emerging Sport while it works its way toward full-fledged NCAA status.)

    At this year’s national championships, the Bears were led by NCATA Athlete of the Year Riley Chimwala, a senior who also earned her fourth NCATA All-America selection. Chimwala was the eighth Bear since 2015 to be named the national A&T athlete of the year. Baylor also swept the sport’s other major awards, with junior Jordan Gruendler winning Specialist of the Year and Payton Washington earning Freshman of the Year honors.

    “This team is so special to be a part of,” says Chimwala. “And you don’t really understand it until you’re wrapped up in it. But I think the legacy and the continuous championships just prove that we’re doing something right. It makes my heart happy.”

    For those who are wondering, this marks Baylor Athletics’ 15th national championship. In addition to A&T’s nine wins, Baylor has also won team national titles in men’s basketball (2021), women’s basketball (2005, 2012 & 2019), men’s tennis (2004) and equestrian (2012).

    Sic ’em, Baylor Acrobatics & Tumbling!