• Baylor professors of the year represent religion, business, English & geosciences

    Many of Baylor's professors of the year

    Another academic year has come to an end. However strange it was, some things are still familiar: Final grades have been posted, books are being returned, students have graduated — and Baylor’s professors of the year have been awarded!

    The Collins Outstanding Professor Award, which is voted on by the outgoing senior class, awards the recipient a $10,000 cash prize. Past Collins professors include Rachel Moore, MA ’69 (1999), Dr. Mona Choucair, BA ’86, PhD ’00, (2008), and Dr. Jane Damron, MA ’09 (2019).

    Baylor’s Class of 2020 chose Dr. David Moseman, PhD ’00, senior lecturer in religion, as the recipient for the Collins Award. “An amazing part of teaching is the community that develops with my students, fellowship that is enriched by getting to walk alongside them, teach them and care for and nurture them as they grow as young adults and as fellow Christians,” says Moseman. “This is an incredibly inspiring and profoundly humbling appointment.”

    The Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year honors a professor who “makes a superlative contribution to the learning environment at Baylor,” based on teaching, research and service, and comes with a $20,000 award. Past recipients include Dr. Bill Hillis, BS ’53 (2009), Dr. Roger Kirk (2012), and Dr. Gaynor Yancey (2019).

    Dr. Andrea Dixon, associate professor of marketing and executive director of the Center for Professional Selling in the Hankamer School of Business, is this year’s honoree. “Last year, I did some research on Cornelia Marschall Smith for a Baylor Round Table event. I was inspired by her story, as it is similar to mine,” says Dixon. “This award is meaningful because I can honor her legacy and those who’ve supported my journey.”

    The Baylor Centennial Professor Award is funded by the Centennial Class of 1945 and provides $5,000 for financial support to aid professors with specific research projects. Past honorees include Robert Darden, BSED ’76 (2008), Dr. Richard Russell (2012) and Dr. Greg Garrett (2013).

    Two professors were selected for the 2020 award. Dr. Lisa Shaver, professor of English and director of women’s and gender studies, and Dr. Joe Yelderman, professor of geosciences and director of Baylor’s Wastewater Research Program. Both professors expressed immense appreciation for this award, as it will help them fund research they were unable to conduct before.

    A dozen more Baylor faculty members received Outstanding Professor awards for 2019-20: Dr. Sara Alexander, BA ’79 (anthropology); Dr. Kenichi Hatakeyama (physics); Dr. Emily Hunter (business); Dr. Howard Lee (physics); Dr. Yang Li (engineering); Dr. Horace Maxile, Jr. (music); Dr. Danielle Parrish (social work); Dr. Edward Polson, MDiv/MSW ’03, MA ’06, PhD ’09 (social work); Dr. Anne Spence (engineering); Dr. Scott Spinks (Spanish); Dr. Edward Taylor (music); and Dr. Randall Umstead (music).

    Sic ’em, Baylor professors!