• Baylor tennis teams sweep Big 12 regular season titles for 9th time in 12 years

    Baylor men's tennis, 2014 Big 12 champions

    In the Big 12 Conference’s 18-year history, Baylor men’s and women’s tennis have combined to win 22 regular season league titles. Even when accounting for ties, that’s more than half of the trophies awarded by the league.

    The No.6-ranked Bears and No.14-ranked Lady Bears continued that trend this spring, with head coach Matt Knoll’s men tying for the title (his squad’s 12th regular-season title in 15 years) and head coach Joey Scrivano’s women winning the title outright (the program’s ninth championship in 10 years).

    (Just for kicks, Baylor also led the Big 12 with 11 Academic All-Big 12 selections: six for the men, and five for the women.)

    The league’s most dominant tennis programs have the chance to bring home two more Big 12 trophies this week, as the conference championships begin Thursday in Fort Worth. Baylor’s odds are good, considering both the men and women enter as the tournament’s No. 1 seeds. History is also with BU, as the men and women have combined to win 13 of the Big 12’s 30 conference tournaments; no school has won more.

    After the Big 12 Championships, Baylor will have a weekend off before NCAA tournament play begins the weekend of May 10. The Bears will look to extend their run of 12 straight Sweet 16s, while the Lady Bears have made the Round of 16 in eight of the last nine years.

    Sic ’em, Baylor tennis!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon