• Former dean honored for his return to the classroom

    Dr. Wallace DanielLongtime Baylor professor Dr. Wallace Daniel is this year’s Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year. As such, Daniel will receive $20,000 and will present a public lecture on campus later this fall.

    If you’re thinking, “Didn’t we just hear someone else named professor of the year?”, the answer is “sort of.” Dr. Mona Choucair, an English department lecturer, won this year’s Collins Outstanding Professor Award as voted on by this year’s senior class. To my way of thinking, it’s wonderful that we have more than enough great teachers to have multiple awardwinners every year!

    The Cornelia Marschall Smith Award honoree is selected by a faculty committee based on the nominees’ teaching, research and service. Daniel came to Baylor in 1971 as an assistant history professor and since then has led the Honors Program, chaired the department of history, and served as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences before returning to the classroom in 2005.

    Sic ’em, Dr. Daniel!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon