• Presenting the 2022 Gilbert Distinguished Baylor Black Alumni Award winners

    Col. Patrice Holmes, Larry W. Coffer II, Pearlie Beverly

    Since 2002, the Baylor Black Alumni Alliance (BBAA) has honored Black alumni who, though service, have earned the respect and approval of their communities and professions. Past recipients of the Rev. Robert L. Gilbert Distinguished Black Alumni Award include Monica “Dr. Moe” Anderson (BA ’84), Walter Abercrombie (BSED ’86, MSED ’92) and Robert Griffin III (BA ’10).

    The award was named in honor of Gilbert (BA ’67), a Waco-area pastor, civil rights leader, and Baylor’s first African-American graduate who passed away in 1992. This year’s honorees were named Friday night at the BBAA’s inaugural Achievement Awards Ceremony. Congratulations to this the 2022 honorees:

    Col. Patrice Holmes (BS ’97) is the commander of the 28th Mission Support Group at Ellsworth Air Force Base (South Dakota). At Baylor, she was a member of ROTC, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Black Student Union. Her career has included stints at the Pentagon and in Korea, earning multiple Air Force commendations. Today, she leads nearly 2,000 professionals in providing services and support for 7,700+ military and civilian personnel and their families.

    Larry W. Coffer II (BSED ’00, MSED ’06) is a research administrator at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. His passion for medical research developed at Baylor; today, he manages research activities for MD Anderson’s Department of Breast Medical Oncology and the Morgan Welch Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Program and Clinic. He recently was recognized with a Citation for Excellence Award for Laboratory Research, a top honor at MD Anderson.

    Pearlie Beverly (MSED ’01) came to Baylor in 1988, moved to Student Life in 1994, and has led Baylor’s Department of Multicultural Affairs since 2005. Since her arrival at BU, the percentage of minority students has grown from just 11% to almost 40%. Known across campus for her dedication to her students, she was honored with the W.R. White Meritorious Service Award in 2014-15 for her work.

    Sic ’em, Bears!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon