• Celebrating 50 years of the Baylor Founders Medal

    Judge Baylor statue with the Founders Medal superimposed

    Among the highest honors bestowed by Baylor University is the Baylor Founders Medal. Established in September 1969, for 50 years it has been presented to those whose lives have been a testament to their love for the university. Like the founders before them, they have given their service, time and talent in support of Baylor’s mission.

    On the front of the medal is the honorable Judge R.E.B. Baylor, with the inscription “Pro Ecclesia Pro Texana.” On the back is Pat Neff Hall with the inscription “Baylor University Founders Medal,” plus the year and recipient’s name. (One copy of the medal is even on permanent exhibition in the National Numismatic Collection at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C.)

    The first recipient of the medal was Earl C. Hankamer, namesake and benefactor of the Hankamer School of Business, who received the honor in 1970, 10 years after the cornerstone was laid for what is now the Hankamer Academic Center. You’ll recognize plenty of names of past recipients, from former presidents (such as Abner McCall and Herb Reynolds) to beloved professors (such as Dr. Winfred Moore and Dr. Cornelia Marschall Smith) to prominent supporters of the university (such as Ted and Sue Getterman and Louise Herrington Ornelas).

    Every year, the medal has gone to an individual or a duo who has been there for the university. This year, the recipient is a bit unique: The City of Waco, so honored for its decades of partnership and support:

    Sic ’em, Founders Medal winners!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon