• Baylor professors of the year represent arts, sciences, theology & education

    Baylor professors of the year 2018

    We’ve reached the end of another academic year at Baylor, when final grades are submitted, seniors are graduated — and Baylor’s professors of the year are named.

    The Collins Outstanding Professor Award, which is voted on by the outgoing senior class, awards the recipient a $10,000 cash prize. Past Collins Professors include Dr. Tom Hanks (1998), Rachel Moore (1999) and Dr. Jonathan Tran (2017).

    Dr. Rebecca McCumbers Flavin, a senior lecturer of political science, was chosen by Baylor’s Class of 2018 as this year’s Collins Outstanding Professor Award winner. “I am very humbled by this honor,” says Flavin (pictured above, bottom right), a Baylor professor since 2010. “It means so much to be recognized in any way, but when the award comes from the students, it is especially meaningful.”

    The Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year honors a professor who “makes a superlative contribution to the learning environment at Baylor,” based on teaching, research and service, and comes with a $20,000 award. Past recipients include Dr. Kevin Pinney (2006), Dr. Bill Hillis, BS ’53 (2009), and Dr. Roger Kirk (2012).

    Dr. C. Stephen Evans, University Professor of Philosophy and Humanities, is this year’s honoree. “In my time at Baylor University, Dr. Evans (pictured above, top right) has been the single-most influential professor I have had the privilege of studying under,” wrote one of his students. “His impact on not only me but all of his other students is clear and profound. If I can have even half of the career Dr. Evans has had in professional and personal life, it would be a life well lived.”

    The Baylor Centennial Professor Award is funded by the Centennial Class of 1945 and provides $5,000 of financial support to aid professors with specific research projects. Past honorees include Robert Darden, BSED ’76, Dr. Greg Garrett, and Dr. Richard Russell.

    Three professors were selected for 2018 by the Centennial Faculty Development Review Committee: Dr. Beth Allison Barr, BA ’96, associate professor and graduate program director in history in the College of Arts & Sciences (pictured above, top left); Dr. Angela Reed, Ph.D., associate professor of practical theology and director of spiritual formation at George W. Truett Theological Seminary (pictured above, bottom left); and Dr. Rishi Sriram, BA ’01, MSED ’03, associate professor of educational leadership in the School of Education (pictured above, bottom center).

    A dozen more Baylor faculty members received Outstanding Professor awards for 2017-18: Dr. David Corey (political science); Dr. Jeff Donahoo, BS ’91, MS ’93 (computer science); Dr. Rebecca Flavin (political science); Dr. Karol Hardin, BSED ’87 (Spanish); John Miller, BSECE ’09, MSECE ’09 (electrical and computer engineering); Dr. Linda Olafsen, (electrical and computer engineering); Dr. Rachelle Rogers, EDD ’05 (education); Dr. Seung Kim (electrical and computer engineering); Dr. Peter Klein (entrepreneurship); Dr. Bruce Longenecker (religion); Dr. Robin Wallace (musicology); and Dr. John White (Truett Seminary).

    Sic ’em, Baylor professors!

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon