• Who belongs on an All-Floyd Casey Stadium team?

    All-Floyd Casey Stadium team

    Since Floyd Casey Stadium debuted in 1950, the Bears have featured 45 All-Americans and six College Football Hall of Famers (including head coach Grant Teaff). Later this fall, Baylor Athletics will honor the best of those who wore the green and gold at Floyd Casey with a series of all-decade teams covering the stadium’s lifespan leading up to the Bears’ move into the new Baylor Stadium in 2014.

    As a fun exercise, Baylor Magazine had longtime BU football followers Jerry Hill (a reporter on the Baylor beat for more than a quarter-century) and John Morris, BA ’80 (who has been calling Baylor games since 1987) take stabs at drafting their own “All-Floyd Casey” teams; the results are in the current issue (Summer 2013) of Baylor Magazine.

    [See the complete draft results || Listen to Hill & Morris discuss the draft]

    I think just about every Baylor fan can guess who the first pick was, but you might be surprised to see who else was (and was not) selected as both Hill and Morris went 10 picks deep for a total of 20 selections. Every decade was represented by at least one player, with the decades of the 1980s and 2010s earning the most nods.

    Sic ’em, Floyd Casey Bears!

    [Baylor Magazine is mailed out four times a year to any member of the Baylor family who would like to receive it, including 140,000 alumni, parents and friends of the university, and distributed in kiosks around campus. If you’re not currently receiving the magazine, click here to sign up for free.]

    Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someoneShare on RedditDigg thisShare on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon